Rachel Carson at her microscope working in 1962. Photographer: Alfred Eisenstaedt; National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution

Rachel Louise Carson - Marine Biologist and Author

Rachel Louise Carson - Marine Biologist and Author

Rachel Carson began her career as an aquatic biologist inside the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries. Her work limitations and the bureaucracy itself frustrated her both professionally and personally. She spent her free time writing about the depth of mystery and beauty of the sea and waterways. She was driven to draw out emotional understanding from readers so that they might empathize with the status of our water, water life, and water values. While in the Bureau of Fisheries she found herself confronted with both what was working and what was failing.

She became a full-time nature writer in the 1951 with the widely praised bestseller The Sea Around Us. She was awarded a U.S. National Book Award, recognized as a gifted writer, and won her financial security to follow her goals of impacting conservation and environmental conversation through her work.

Her next book, The Edge of the Sea, and the reissued version of her first book, Under the Sea Wind, put both books at the best seller list at the same time. Her sea trilogy exploring the entirety of ocean life from the shores to the depths. It also sealed her fame as a writer and word smith in homage to the waters.

Soon after this success, Carson turned her attention to the problems caused by synthetic pesticides. The result was seminal work, Silent Spring, published in 1962. The book scrupulously exposed and defined environmental concerns to the American people. Rachel Carson and her title Silent Spring was attacked by fierce opposition via chemical companies. To no avail. Her writing and the value of its science spurred a reversal in national pesticide policy leading to the national ban on DDT and other pesticides. Her writing also inspired the grassroots environmental movement leading to the creation of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Rachel Louise Carson was posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Jimmy Carter.

Her books are still available, viable, and still very relevant today.

  1. Under the Sea Wind
  2. The Sea Around Us
  3. The Edge of the Sea
  4. Silent Spring
Kathy LaFollett is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a comment

* Required fields