Tierra del Fuego, Argentina

Tierra del Fuego, Argentina

Tierra del Fuego, Argentina

Tierra del Fuego received its first European encounter by Ferdinand Magellan in 1520.  Tierra del Fuego "Land of Fire" got its name from the number of campfires tended by the Yamana tribesmen. All visible to the ships under sail off the coast.

Tierra del Fuego National Park. Courtesy Tierra del Fuego National Park.
An archipelago off the southernmost tip of the South American mainland, Tierra del Fuego is situated across the Strait of Magellan. The archipelago consists of the main island, Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego, Isla de los Estados, Navarino Island, Hornos Island, Hoste Island, Hermite Islands, Desolación Island, Clarence Island, Chile, Gable Island, and Isla Observatorio.

Divided between Chile and Argentina. Argentina controlling the eastern half of the main island and Chile the western half plus the islands south of Beagle Channel and the southernmost islands. Fueguino, a volcanic field in Chile, extends onto Tierra del Fuego's Cook Island and over nearby Londonderry Island.

Fueguino view.
Storied with shipwrecks, indigenous people's history, failed colonization missions, fables, and natural history the Tierra del Fuego Archipelago offers more than just a pretty picture.

Tierra del Fuego National Park basin. Courtesy Tierra del Fuego National Park.

Kathy LaFollett is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a comment

* Required fields