The Secret Perfume of Birds: Uncovering the Science of Avian Scent

$23.97 Regular price $27.95
Amazon price as of
06/27/22 09:53 EDT
Type: Book
View on Amazon

From tangerine-scented auklets to mossy-smelling juncos, birds are more fragrant than you might think. ― Simon Ings, NEW SCIENTIST Whittaker blends science writing and memoir to explore how birds make use of odors in her delightful debut. Whittaker's a natural explainer, and her willingness to poke fun at herself only enhances her fascinating account. Fans of Jon Dunn and Jonathan Meiburg will be charmed.

Memoir, intellectual history, and the results of her own scientific research on avian chemical communication, which challenges the long-held belief in ornithology that birds don't have a sense of smell. Whittaker also discusses her unorthodox academic career and her personal life (including her roller derby alter ego 'Chunk Rock Girl'), adding zest to the science.